Nadal won the Davis Cup with Spain

Rafael Nadal beat Denis Shapovalov 6-3, 7-6, helping Spain beat Canada 2-0 and win the Davis Cup 2019.

Spain took a big advantage after the first match, when Roberto Bautista Agut won Felix Auger-Aliassime 7-6, 6-3. The victory meant a lot to the individual Bautista Agut, when the world’s No. 9 had just returned to the team after returning home because his father had died earlier this week.

In the second match, Nadal won easily Shapovalov 6-3 in the first set. Shapovalov played tenaciously in the set of two, dragging his senior into the tie-break series. But there, the 20-year-old player who saved two match-points still failed 7-9.

The 6-3, 7-6 victory helped Nadal to finish the Davis Cup achievement with the achievement of winning all single matches. The world’s number one player won five singles and three doubles matches, making a great contribution to helping Spain win the first time since 2011.

The Gaur has won it six times in the prestigious team event. Nadal, Spain’s brightest star, set a record with 29 consecutive wins in the singles history of the tournament.

2019 is the first year the Davis Cup takes place with a new format, where the 18 strongest teams gather in Madrid, Spain to compete for the championship. The tournament organized by Pique’s Kosmos has not attracted many viewers in the first year of changing the format, but is still considered successful. Kosmos, in an effort to raise the Davis Cup, pledged $ 3 billion in funding for 25 tournaments, starting in 2019.

Djokovic, Nadal, and Murray won the Davis Cup together

Djakovic, Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray contributed to the victory in the group stage of the teams of Serbia, Spain and England on November 20.

Rafael Nadal, despite not playing very well, still won the world No. 280 player Borna Gojo 6-4, 6-3 to help Spain beat Croatia with a total score of 3-0. The home team won the quarterfinals as first place in Group B, while Croatia became the former champion.

2019 is the first year the prestigious Davis Cup teammates take place with the new format. The final round takes place in Madrid, Spain from January 18-24. The 18 teams are divided into six groups, choosing the top six teams and the two teams with the best results (based on the set win ratio) for a knockout match. The total prize money of the tournament amounted to 20 million USD.